In Podcast

Download Episode Here – right click link and select “Save Link As…”

In this episode Joel and Antonia talk about Gary Chapman and his book The 5 Love Languages.

In this podcast on the 5 love languages you’ll find:

  • Gary Chapman outlines love in 5 different ways. These love languages are very powerful and we all have different ways of expressing our love to our mate.
  • We’re often unaware that we speak in different love languages. When this happens, misunderstanding occurs because you’re going to think that the person is denying or withholding love from you.
  • The 5 Different Love Languages
    1. Words of Affirmation. Expressing love through affirming words like how proud you are of your partner or maybe a nickname that only the two of you use dearly. It could also be the way you speak highly of them in public.
    2. Quality Time. Spending a lot of quality time. There are people who just want being present by the quality of time they spend with their mate.
    3. Gift Giving. Expresses love by finding that perfect object that will make the person happy or to receive a gift.
    4. Acts of Service. Doing the dishes, getting the oil changed in the car. Working hard to provide for the family.
    5. Physical Touch. Through touching and physicality. Examples include but not limited to snogging, holding hands in public, kissing in public and giving a massage. This is more than just sex. Sex is a fundamental need and is part of Maslow’s Hierarchy of needs.
  • When couples have different ways of expressing their love (example – you’re a quality time person and your mate is an “acts of service” person), misunderstanding occurs and sometimes, causing one or both partners to feel “not loved”.
  • It’s a matter of finding out what’s your love language and how are you misinterpreting selfishness.
  • So how are you going to find out your partner’s primary love language? Test it, try giving them gifts for example and check if it creates a big impact to them.
  • Oftentimes, the language you use to give love is not necessarily the language you get from the other person.
  • The way that we receive love and the way that we show love might be different. Knowing not just what you and your mate are but what your receiving and giving language is, can be very powerful.
  • If somebody is expressing love in a way that’s unfamiliar to us, keep in mind that it’s an attempt for them to show love intimacy.
  • The more we can see positive intent from our mate, the more we understand that they want to feel intimacy, being able to understand the love language model helps maintain the intimacy and maintain a healthy relationship.

Exercises we recommend in this podcast:

Write down the 5 love languages and rate yourself and your mate from 1-5 (1 being the highest). Invite your mate to have their own list and talk deeply about it.

Things we reference in this podcast:


To subscribe to the podcast, please use the links below:

Subscribe with iTunes
Non iTunes Link
Download The Android App
Subscribe on Soundcloud
Subscribe with Stitcher

If you like the podcast and want to help us out in return, please leave an honest rating and review on iTunes by clicking here. It will help the show and its ranking in iTunes immensely! We would be eternally grateful!


Want to learn more?

Discover Your Personal Genius


We want to hear from you. Leave your comments below…

Personality Hacker
Personality Hacker teaches you the coding language of your mind and how to use it to create happiness.
Showing 2 comments
  • Laura

    I have thought about this 5 love languages idea a little bit. My sister loves to talk about it and use the idea within our family.

    I have actually really struggled with what my giving language is.

    On the receiving end, I would say physical touch and words of affirmation are my biggest, with a good hint of quality time.

    I love people deeply and think of them a lot, but how to get that out of my heart and head, how to express that, is difficult.

    I think acts of service has been a way to express my love for other people. I try to work hard at work to show my love for my colleagues, and with family I will do the dishes, etc. I often think I would really like to be good at giving words of affirmation, as they have had such a large impact on me and I would like to reciprocate that. I am just very clumsy at it. In some cases, where I have had a strong mentor who I love as a person, I have written them a letter to express my gratitude and love for them.

    My ex-boyfriend had physical touch as a strong love language. The thing is, I also had that love language, however I very much disliked showing affection in public, while he very much wanted to. I think that is more so linked to my general reserved behaviour in public. I am very much a one on one person. In my past I have been very shy so I think that is a big part of it. It is like I have yearned just to place a hand on another person’s, but I don’t feel the permission to.


  • Patricia

    I have heard about this before, and I know a bit about it, but I was wondering how you might be able to tell what another person’s love language is. I am an INTP and I don’t even truly know what my love language is because as long as the person shows in one way or another that they genuinely care about me, then I don’t care all that much how they do it. I do not like to be touched too much, and words of affirmation can get old if I feel that they are not genuine, but other than that, I don’t really care.
    But anyway, recently there is a boy who I believe to be an ENFP (although I’m not sure about that, and he tends to show signs of an introvert sometimes) who likes me (I know because his mother told me), and I also like him, but I don’t know how to communicate to him that I like him.
    I am certain that he believes that I don’t like him, but all the things that I have done to try to show him otherwise have failed. So I was wondering how I could determine what his love language is, and how I could then communicate to him that I like him.
    And I was also curious whether certain personality types have specific love languages, for instance, perhaps INTPs’ love language tend to be acts of service or something of that sort.

Leave a Comment

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text.